Skip to content
February 12, 2012 / northernillinoiscouponingmoms

CVS trip

I did 3 transactions this morning at CVS. I was all off because of one transaction so lets see how it worked out 🙂

Transaction #1:

2 Colgate Total Advanced $2.75 each

used 2 $0.75/1 coupons from todays inserts

Final cost $4 plus tax

Got $4 ECB back after I paid

Transaction 2: which is where it goes crazy 🙂 Sale is buy$15 get $5 ECB

6 Speed Sticks @ $1.99 each $11.94

One Soft Soap Body was $3

Total $14.94 (good reminder that if you are close to $15 the ECB will still print!)

Used 3 B1G1 FREE  Speed Stick (which rang up at $3.99, the max value for the coupon. They should have rang up at $1.99. Cashier and I both saw it and she said that was fine. OK by me 🙂 ) so I got $3.99×3 ($11.97 off total) (FREE Speedstick plus $0.03 overage) (this is the second time I have used a B1G1 free coupon at CVS that rang up at the max price on the coupon and not for the price of the item.)

Used  $1/1 Softsoap body wash coupon (from inside specially marked Colgate toothpastes)

I also was GOING to pay with the $4 ECB from transaction 1 BUT my total WITH TAX was $3.20. Since ECBs cannot pay for tax she would have had to adjust the $4 ECB down to the total of $1.97 ( what it was before tax). I did NOT want to burn a $4 ECB to have it adjusted to $1.97 so I chose to pay cash for this

Total after coupons $3.20

Got a $5 ECB back after I paid!

Transaction #3

2 Nivea Lip ( rang up at $2.99 each but should have rang at 2/$5)

2 Nivea Body wash $4 each ($8)

Total $13.98

used a $3/2 Nivea Lip

used 2 $1.50 off 1 Nivea Body wash

Paid with the $5 ECB from transaction #2

Total $2.98 before tax

**Second issue this am. Nivea lip did not ring at 2/$5 and when looking at my receipt it did not count it towards the $10 needed for the ECB. I pointed this out to the cashier. She just printed me a $3 ECB. Technically I over paid by $0.98 for Nivea Lip. Total should have been $2 before tax. I wasnt going to argue as I had been in there forever 🙂

Watch prices if you do this deal and make sure it all rings up correctly and the ECB prints

Total today paid: $10.18 ( tax not included in 2 totals)

Left with a $3 and a $3 ECB ($7 total)

so $3.18! Id say a good day

I continue to have some frustration with CVS, despite getting good deals. I was there when they opened. New ad and new ECBs running yet when I left there were only 2 Speed Stick on the shelf, many other items were low or they had none (Nivea, soft soap etc) .Holes in stock everywhere. I get frustrated when a new ad is out and they dont have what is in the ad. Also I do get frustrated when the ad has a price and it doesnt ring correctly. Thats just me. Seems like poor marketing.

Leave a Reply

